Knowledge Base

 
Reset Search
 

 

Article

NetCloud Manager: Configuration Priority

« Go Back

Information

 
Content

NetCloud Manager: Configuration Priority


Quick Links

Summary

Description

Determining where a router gets its configuration

Factory Resetting a Router Managed in NetCloud

Related Articles


Summary

This article explains how configuration priorities are set between NetCloud Manager and the device administration pages, as well as how to determine the source of the router's configuration.


Description

For customers with NetCloud Manager (NCM), there are three main ways to edit a device's configuration: in NCM, through Group and Device configurations, and locally, through the router's own administrative page.

  • NCM Group configuration has the lowest priority.
  • NCOS Local configuration has high priority.
  • NCM Device configuration has the highest priority.

The router's default configuration is used as a basis for comparison for configuration files. It is overwritten by any custom local configurations or NCM configurations.

The Group configuration in NCM is overwritten by both the custom Local router configuration and the Device configuration in NCM.

The NCM Device and Local router configurations are synonymous in most cases. When making a configuration change at the local level, the changes will then sync with the NCM Device level, and vice versa. The two scenarios where the NCM Device level configuration will override Local changes are:

  • when conflicting changes are made at both the Local and NCM Device level while the device is offline. Once brought online and checks into NCM, the NCM Device level changes will have priority.

  • when a new change is made locally while the NCM Device level configuration is still syncing the previous change. The new change will be overwritten by the last NCM Device level configuration once the sync completes.

In general, the preferred method for managing devices that are registered in NCM is through the Group configuration. If there are more specific settings needed for individual devices, use the Device configuration in NCM. For example, it is possible to make the administration password standard for an entire group, and then create individual SSIDs for each device - both through NCM.

Troubleshooting

If most of the devices in a group are functioning as intended, but one member of the group is not behaving the same as the others, there may be a device level configuration that is overriding the group configuration. To remove the Device configuration and keep the Group configuration, log in to NetCloud Manager, select the Devices tab, highlight your router, click Configuration and select Clear

Clear Device configuration


Determining where a router gets its configuration

The individual config symbol found on the NCM Devices page indicates that the router is running a non-default configuration. The same symbol, when found on the NCM Groups pages tells us that the group contains one more routers that are running configuration settings that do not match the router default or the group configuration. (Tip: clicking the individual config symbol on the Groups page will automatically display all routers with unique configurations.)

The Configuration Summary option in NCM displays a color-coded output of the router's configuration. The target configuration displays the total sum of the different configurations the router is running:

  • settings in purple are pulled from the Group configuration in NCM
  • settings in green are pulled from the Device configuration in NCM
  • settings in grey exist only on the router's local configuration file, and are not synced to the Device configuration in NCM (possibly because the config sync was suspended, or the router went offline before syncing)

User-added image


Resetting a Router Manged in NetCloud

If you factory reset a device that is managed by NetCloud Manager, the Cradlepoint will automatically connect to the internet, check back in with NetCloud Manager and re-apply the Group and Device configuration stored in NetCloud. To get the device to a factory default state, the NetCloud Device and Group configuration need to be removed from the device.

To factory reset a device that is in NetCloud Manager, do the following first before trying a software or hardware reset, otherwise it will be reverted to its previous configuration.

Step 1: Log in to Netcloud Manager. Open the Devices tab and select your Cradlepoint Router.
Step 2: If the device is in a group: highlight the router, click "Move", select the parent account, and click "Ok".
Highlight your router and select "move"
Select the root account and click "ok"

Step 3: Once the device is removed from the group, highlight your router, click "Configuration" and select "Clear".
Highlight your router, click "Configuration" and select "Clear"
Step 4: Once the router has been removed from its group and the device level configuration has been cleared, you can factory reset by clicking "Commands" and selecting "Restore to Defaults". You may also use the hardware reset button or System > System Control > Device Options > Factory Reset Router in the local web interface.
Highlight your router, click "Configuration" and select "Clear"

Related Articles/Links


Published Date: 7/27/2016

Feedback

 

Was this article helpful?


   

Feedback

Please tell us how we can make this article more useful.

Characters Remaining: 255