Knowledge Base

 
Reset Search
 

 

Article

NetCloud Manager (NCM) - Configuration Sync Suspended

« Go Back

Information

 
Content

NetCloud Manager (NCM) - Configuration Sync Suspended


Quick Links

Summary

Troubleshooting

Related Articles


Summary

When a router in NetCloud Manager encounters an error when syncing it's configuration, in the "Devices" view it will display "Suspended" in the Configuration column and show a warning icon of an exclamation point inside a triangle in the Status column.

This means the router either encountered an error when attempting to apply the configuration patch sent to it from NCM, or after applying the patch successfully the router was no longer able to communicate with NCM.

An example is shown in the screenshot below:

User-added image


Troubleshooting

To resolve the configuration sync suspended, first try to Resume Updates:

Select the router, then click the Configuration menu and select "Resume Updates"

User-added image

If the router returns to the Configuration Sync Suspended state, you will need to investigate why the configuration is being rejected by the router. The best way to identify what part of the configuration is being rejected is to export the router log and search for the corresponding error. First, export the log (logging must be enabled for the group the router is in):

User-added image

Search the log for "Error running task". It normally is a very long log entry that has a lot of cryptic information, but at the end of the error, you will see a message that says "reason:", followed by an explanation of why the configuration patch was rejected. Below is an example:

Wed Oct 28 15:33:25 2015|ERROR|ecm|Error running task: {'responseid': 'dbcfb140b6:1425', 'responsequeue': '57647d8a22', ----- text omitted ----- reason: The interface already belongs to a Zone

To fix the issue, you will need to correct the part of the configuration that is causing the router to reject the patch, then resume updates. In this example, the error is stating that an interface already belongs to a zone, so you would need to remove that interface from the existing zone before adding it to a new zone.

If you are unable to identify or resolve the configuration issue, it may be necessary to restore the router to default configuration and allow it to pull down it's configuration from NCM:

User-added image


Related Articles/Links


Published Date: 11/3/2015

This article not have what you need?  Not find what you were looking for?  Think this article can be improved?  Please let us know at suggestions@cradlepoint.com.

Feedback

 

Was this article helpful?


   

Feedback

Please tell us how we can make this article more useful.

Characters Remaining: 255